In Jainism, a Tirthankara is a human being who helps in achieving liberation and enlightenment as an arihant. According to Jain scriptures, that which helps one to cross the great ocean of worldly life is called tirth and a person who fills the role of tirth is known as Tirthankar. TÄ«rthankars achieve liberation and enlightenment by destroying their constraining (ghati karmas) and becoming role models and leaders for those seeking spiritual guidance. They also seek Kevala Jnana, a state of permanent, perpetual, absolute knowledge of the Soul; it is the precursor to final liberation from the cycle of birth and death.

The twenty-four known TÄ«rthankars in this time cycle revitalized the Jain religion by establishing the fourfold sangh order which consists of monks (Sadhu), nuns (Sadhvi), laymen (Shravak) and laywomen (Shravika).

24 Tirthankaras
Adinath Bhagawan
Ajit Nath Bhagwan
Sambhav Nath Bhagwan
Abhinadan Nath Bhagwan
Sumati Nath Bhagwan
Padmaprabhu Bhagwan
Suparshva Nath Bhagwan
Chandraprabhu Bhagwan
PushpDanth Bhagwan
Sheetal Nath Bhagwan
Shreyans Nath Bhagwan
Vasupujya Bhagwan
Vimal Nath Bhagwan
Anant Nath Bhagwan
Dharm Nath Bhagwan
Shanti Nath Bhagwan
Kunthu Nath Bhagwan
Arah Nath Bhagwan
Malli Nath Bhagwan
Munisuvrat Nath Bhagwan
Nami Nath Bhagwan
Nemi Nath Bhagwan
ParshvaNath Bhagwan
Mahavir Swami


What is Tirthankara?


A tirthankara is one who establishes Jain organization after conquering both love and hatred . He shows a fine path to the world's living beings to be free from ignorance, misery and moha (Worldly happiness)


What do Tirthankaras do?


The 24 Tirthankaras are considered to be the creator of Jain religion. They are divine elements of Jainism. They have attained all the achievement of ultimate nature including the ultimate knowledge after making vigorous efforts. Their principles are for betterment and welfare of others. Their path is to provide total fearless life and that of non-violence and to distribute love and friendship. Their vision of life is very wide and they have no insistence for anything. Their way of life is for giving up possessive passion and being free from the karmas we have a brief introduction of all 24 tirthankaras, who are generous, noble passion-free and very holy Characters.


Why there are 24 Tirthankaras only?


The answer to this question can be perhaps available from the 87th stramza of "Yashstilakchulikc" scripture written by Acharya Somdev Suri. He observes :

There are indefinite number of Graha (Planet) – Nakshatra – Taras (Stars) (Heavenly elements in the sky). But their numbers has been shown to be limited by the rule of nature. In the present era of Utsarpini time-span, there are 24 times only when these heavenly elements are positioned in the best location. This is a certainty. Therefore there are only 24 Tirthankaras only not a one less not a one more.